MORE Awards Entry Guidelines

The Annual MORE Awards: Recognizes excellence in reporting accurate musculoskeletal health and issues and encouraging healthy behaviors in the care of bones and joints.


MORE Awards will be given to media across six categories: national & local print journalism, national & local broadcast journalism, web-specific journalism and advocacy journalism.

The Advocacy category will accept entries that recognize excellence in reporting musculoskeletal health programs at the federal, state and local levels as well as emphasizing the importance of research funding for the advancement of orthopaedics.

To qualify for a 2020 MORE Award all entrants must be journalists or freelance writers/editors/producers in either print, broadcast or online journalism. Entries must have either been published or broadcast between October 1, 2018 and October 1, 2019.

All entries must be written for a CONSUMER audience.

All entries (along with supporting PDF of story, or video, or radio file) should be submitted to

Entry Deadline

Entries must be received on or before 5pm CT on Tuesday, October 8, 2019. THERE WILL NOT BE ANY EXTENSIONS due to a tight judging schedule.

Judging Criteria and Timing

Each entry for the MORE Awards will be evaluated by a panel of orthopaedic surgeons based on the following criteria:

  1. Accurately report on new trends, procedures, technologies or news as they relate to orthopaedics or the musculoskeletal system – bones and joints;
  2. Medical and technical accuracy and completeness;
  3. Clarity and style; and,
  4. Original and creative concept.

If, in the opinion of the judges, an entry is submitted in the wrong category, the AAOS reserves the right to transfer the submission to another more appropriate category.

Retention of Entries

All entries become the property of AAOS and will not be returned.