Tipton Leadership Award

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons in partnership with the Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation announces the Fifteenth Annual William W. Tipton Jr., M.D. Leadership Award. The 2020 William Tipton Leadership Award will be presented at the 2020 AAOS Annual Meeting in Orlando, FL. The honoree will receive a $5,000 donation to be used in furthering leadership in orthopaedics. The honoree also will receive a plaque to commemorate the Award.

Information for those nominating a colleague, or writing a letter of reference

When writing the statement about the nominee's leadership abilities and accomplishments please address the qualities, characteristics, and traits listed below. The AAOS Membership and Leader Development Committee will consider these criteria when evaluating the candidates for the William W. Tipton Jr., M.D. Leadership Award:

Recognition by the Orthopaedic Community

  • Recognized as a leader among peers - The nominee is someone who by action, force of will, and motivation has created a vision or has worked diligently over a significant period of time, enabling orthopaedics to reach new levels of prestige and respect, or achieving meaningful progress toward expressed goals.
  • Reliability - The nominee has demonstrated exceptional dedication of time and effort for the greater good.
  • Commitment to the growth and prestige of orthopaedics - The nominee, by his/her actions, is committed foremost to the advancement of orthopaedics.

Individual Accomplishments/Actions

  1. Significant accomplishments for the specialty - The nominee's deeds should be seen as significant achievements for the benefit of physicians, their patients, the orthopaedic community and/or the American public.
  2. Understands and demonstrates the values of diversity in orthopaedics - This applies to cultural, gender, age, racial, and all other diversity that enriches the fabric and texture of orthopaedics.
  3. Commitment to a "win-win" approach for controversy - Demonstrates ability and accomplishments that allow all parties to have some ownership in achievement. There are no "losers."

Values Exhibited by the Nominee

  1. Commitment to mentorship - The Ideal Mentor - Demonstrates commitment to passing along leadership skills and involving peers with the next generation of leaders.
  2. Commitment to team building and being a team player - Concerned with engaging all who have an interest in the group's vision, being inclusive rather than exclusive. The person's actions and deeds reflect commitment to the value that the good of the whole takes precedence over self.
  3. Committed to "bridge-building" - for the orthopaedic community and beyond through mutual partnerships and alliances.

Who may sponsor a nominee?

  • An Academy fellow in good standing or a candidate member eligible for fellowship
  • An orthopaedic resident who has directly and professionally benefited from the activities of the nominee

Who is eligible to be a nominee?

  • The nominee must be an AAOS fellow in good standing or a candidate member eligible for fellowship.
  • NOTE: Please review the AAOS Awards Policy which indicates that members of the Membership and Leader Development Committee and the AAOS Board of Directors are not currently eligible for consideration as a Tipton Award nominee.
  • The nominee agrees to attend, at his/her expense, the 2020 AAOS Annual Meeting in Orlando to accept the award.

Nomination Process

The 2020 awards nomination period is closed.
  • Step One: Follow the link to the 2020 Tipton Award Nomination Form. Submit the completed nomination form to AAOS no later than June 14, 2019.
  • Step Two: Consult the Nominee about providing the following supporting materials, which will need to be submitted to AAOS no later than June 14, 2019:
    1. Up to three (3) letters of reference from individuals familiar with his/her leadership qualities/activities. The Tipton Award Leadership Criteria can be used as a guide in drafting the letters of reference.
    2. A brief biographical sketch highlighting the nominee's life and career (this is preferred to a curriculum vitae).
    3. A photograph suitable for publicity purposes, preferably in color and digital format.
  • Step Three:  Ensure all required documents are submitted on time. The nominee's sponsor should ensure that all supporting materials required are received by AAOS no later than June 14, 2019.

All Tipton Award materials should be submitted to Kristen Erickson at erickson@aaos.org

The AAOS Membership and Leader Development Committee will review all the nomination materials and submit a listing of their top three candidates in priority order for approval by the AAOS Board of Directors at its fall 2019 meeting.

Past Tipton Award Recipients:

2017 - William J. Robb, III, MD

2016 - S. Terry Canale, MD

2015 - Andrew J Weiland, MD

2014 - Gary Friedlaender, MD

2013 - Michael J. Yaszemski, MD

2012 - Vernon T. Tolo, MD

2011 - Stuart L. Weinstein, MD

2010 - Augustus A. White, III, MD, PhD

2009 - Blair C. Filler, MD

2008 - Michael F. Schafer, MD

2007 - Stuart A. Hirsch, MD

2006 - Richard J. Haynes, MD